Zach’s Raw Vegan No-Bake Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls of Goodness

I love giving this variation of chocolate chip cookies to my kids for an after school snack. For one, you’re not using sugar, which jacks them up. You’re using agave, which has a way less glycemic index (doesn’t raise their blood sugar). There’s no processed, white, bleached flour that has absolutely no nutritional content, not to mention, bleach, and it has no dairy, which has been constipating my kids lately. The cookies taste like you’re eating a ball of cookie dough, and kids are all about that.

I searched for a raw vegan chocolate chip cookie online and found this site with mouthwatering photos of an easy recipe. Luckily, I have a Vitamix blender, so I knew I could make them immediately with what I had on hand as long as I modified a few things.

Source: averiecooks.com via Zach on Pinterest

I realized cashews are pretty expensive, followed by walnuts and then almonds. I made one batch and immediately crushed all of them, so I realized I had to triple the recipe whenever I wanted to make them. So my variation below is not only the change in using almonds versus cashews, but the quantity of ingredients, because seriously, you are gonna wanna eat this for days.

My daughter freakin’ loves almonds and it reminds her of eating straight cookie dough, so she was so hype to eat these. My son doesn’t like ’em. He doesn’t explain stuff – he just doesn’t like them and that’s it. He says they’re weird. A week later, he comes back asking me for “those cookie balls” after they were all gone. I said, “Dude, I thought you didn’t like those!” So he tells me that he changed his mind. Just gotta give a kid some time. Guess I’m makin’ more cookies!

The crunch of the chocolate chips and the creaminess of the cookie “dough” is freakin’ brilliant. I rolled them in shredded, unsweetened coconut for me and my mom, and she said, “These are awesome. How did you make them?!” I gave them to my coworkers to try, and Ashley said, “Gotta get the recipe. I’m gonna make a book for Zach’s recipes because they’re so d@mn good.” Johnny was like “Dude, they are so good!” and wanted me to send him the recipe too, so here goes!

Ingredients

  • 3/4 c Raw Agave Nectar (start with 1/2 c and add more if needed, depending on how dry your “flour” is)
  • 1 Tbsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 c Rolled Oats or Oat Flour
  • 2 c Raw Almonds (or Cashews or Pre-Made Almond Meal)
  • 3/4 c Chocolate Chips – vegan, of course!
  • 1/4 c Unsweetened Shredded Coconut (optional)
Directions
Measure out all of your wet ingredients and dump them in a massive bowl.
Measure out all of your dry ingredients.
Blend the oats in your Vitamix into oat flour.

Dump them in the bowl with the agave and vanilla.

Blend the almonds into almond flour. Be careful, because you’ll start making almond butter if you don’t do it in batches (no more than 1 cup at a time). I make mine more coarsely ground than in the “Averie Cooks” original recipe. Mine look like cookie dough with chopped nuts and hers look like plain cookie dough. This could also be because she uses cashews, which are smoother (and also like 3-4 times more expensive).

Dump it in the bowl with everything else.

Stir it or mix it. This is fun to do with kids because they can literally mix it all up with their hands, and lick it off their fingers because, um, no eggs means no salmonella poisoning, yesss!

Add chocolate chips, and mix it up some more!

Let it sit for awhile to harden. If you’re like me, just straight eat it with a spoon. Or use some kind of scoop to form the dough into balls. Or just roll it with your hands. Whatever, dude, it’s freakin’ good!


Then, if you want, roll it in the coconut shreds. If you don’t crush this entire recipe, put it away in a container with wax or parchment paper. What freaks people out is that you get to leave it out on the kitchen counter. No refrigeration is required!

Here’s a link to the original recipe, so you can see how I modified it.

Hope you love crushing these as much as I do!

=>;>; “Love Everyone” artwork by Jami Craver-Jenkins

4 thoughts on “Zach’s Raw Vegan No-Bake Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Balls of Goodness

  1. Made this recipe this am.. Thanks for posting with the larger recipe proportions with almond meal. I added about a tsp. Salt and 3/4 cup natural crunchy peanut butter. Tasted like a Reese’s ! Mmm Mmm.:-)

Leave a Reply

